Veritas NetBackup™ Logging Reference Guide
- Using logs
- About unified logging
- About legacy logging
- About global logging levels
- Troubleshooting error messages in the NetBackup Administration Console
- Backup process and logging
- Media and device processes and logging
- Restore process and logging
- Advanced Backup and Restore Features
- Storage logging
- NetBackup Deduplication logging
- OpenStorage Technology (OST) logging
- Storage lifecycle policy (SLP) and Auto Image Replication (A.I.R.) logging
- Snapshot technologies
- Locating logs
- Java-based administration console logging
About recycling unified log files
Limit the number of log files
Specify the maximum number of log files that NetBackup retains. When the number of log files exceeds the maximum, the oldest log files become eligible for deletion during log cleanup. The NumberOfLogFiles option for the vxlogcfg command defines that number.
In the following example, the maximum number of log files that are allowed for each of the unified logging originators in the NetBackup (product ID 51216) is 8000. When the number of log files exceeds 8000 for a particular originator, the oldest log files become eligible for deletion during log cleanup.
# vxlogcfg -a -p 51216 -o ALL -s NumberOfLogFiles=8000
Specify the number of days the log files are kept
Use the Keep logs for days property to specify the maximum number of days logs are kept. When the maximum number of days is reached, the unified logs and legacy logs are automatically deleted.
In the NetBackup Administration Console, in the left pane, expand. Double-click the server you want to change. A new dialog box appears. In the left pane, click .
Explicitly delete the log files
To initiate recycling and delete the log files, run the following command:
# vxlogmgr -a -d
If you cannot manually delete or move files with vxlogmgr, the Keep logs for days property removes the old logs for both unified logging and legacy logging.
If the vxlogcfg LogRecycle option is ON (true), the Keep logs for days setting is disabled for unified logs. In this case, unified logging files are deleted when their number (for a particular originator) exceeds the number that the NumberOfLogFiles option specifies on the vxlogcfg command.